MOHAWK VALLEY LIBRARY SYSTEM ANNUAL MEETING

River Stone Manor Glenville, New York **May 8, 2019**

MVLS Trustees: Rosemary Barger, Jane Borrelli, Marion Grimes, Katherine Hawkins, Barbara

Madonna, Joanne Mickle, Felicia Spivey

MVLS Staff: Wade Abbott, Lois Gordon, Kathy Insero, Sally Rappa, Joe Sherry, Eric Trahan

Joint Automation Staff: Michele Largeteau

<u>Guests</u>: Outreach Advisory Council members – Denelle Baker, Sarah Beekman, and

Barry Finley, Assemblyman Angelo Santabarbara, Assemblyman Robert Smullen, Assemblywoman Mary Beth Walsh, Kathryn McCary, and Carl Shepard, member of The Foundation for Mohawk Valley Libraries and

Johanne Shepard

Library Trustees, Library Directors and Staff, and Friends

Fulton County

Gloversville Merry Brown, Elizabeth Batchelor, Lisa Buggein, Lance Gundersen, Barbara

Madonna, Christine Pesses, David Pesses, Susan Shrader, Ellen Wood

Northville Jane Borrelli, Michael Burnett, Stella Williams

Montgomery County

Canajoharie Hannah Stahl, Charles Tallent

Fort Hunter Ava Douglass, Eric Kass, Barbara Lampkin, Sue Nacco, Sue Summerfield

Fort Plain Whitney Hubbard, Linda Kellett, Bonnie Kerr, Jacob Trahan, Paige Young

Fonda Linda Bell, Sherri Kirschman, Gretchen Subik, Debbie Young

Schenectady County Karen Bradley, Cheryl Cufari, Faith Donovan, Leah LaFera, Maeve Smith,

Madelyn Thorne, David West, Christine Witkowski

Schoharie County

Cobleskill Harriet Berard, Devon Hedges, Dee Neary, Julia Walter

Middleburgh Vicki DeGroff, Marie Haley, Anne LaMont, Susan London, Mal Martin, Terry

Pavoldi, Rebecca Young, Darlene Zurek

Schoharie Patricia Clancy, Michelle Haverly, Deb Paden

Sharon Springs Pam Crandall-Luby, JoAnn Fraick, Regina Gilbert, Helen Thomas

The sixtieth annual meeting of the Mohawk Valley Library System was held at the River Stone Manor in Glenville.

Eric Trahan, Executive Director, welcomed all and introduced Assemblywoman Mary Beth Walsh, Assemblyman Angelo Santabarbara, and Assemblyman Robert Smullen.

Eric welcomed special guests Denelle Baker, Sarah Beekman, Barry Finley, and Marion Grimes, members of the Outreach Advisory Council.

Eric introduced the members of the Mohawk Valley Library System Board, MVLS staff and the Joint Automation Project staff.

Michael Burnett acknowledged member library directors from each library.

Eric provided information on upcoming workshops and Foundation golf tournaments. He noted Gloversville and Middleburgh had successful budget votes with increases. Eric spoke of communications, advocacy and the importance of listening to the community. Libraries must tell their stories!

Eric introduced Wade Abbott, Community Engagement and Communications Specialist. Wade did a presentation of videos he produced at member libraries. He stated the importance of libraries communicating with their communities, partnering with businesses and organizations, and the impact it can have on the library.

Business Meeting:

Barbara Madonna called the annual meeting to order at 7:25 p.m. She stated that 12 libraries were in attendance and recognized their trustees. Barbara thanked all the member library trustees for their service, and thanked state Senators and Assemblypersons for their outspoken advocacy to increase state aid for libraries. She encouraged attendees to reach out to their legislators for increased library funding.

Barbara noted copies of the 2018 MVLS Annual Report were on tables. The report highlights the activities of the past year, including statistics from each of the member libraries and the MVLS Treasurer's Report. An online version is posted on the MVLS website.

Barbara reported for the Nominating Committee. She stated there was a vacancy in Schenectady County.

Barbara asked for nominations from the floor. Madelyn Thorne nominated Christine Witkowski to fill the Schenectady County vacancy.

MOTION: To elect Christine Witkowski to represent Schenectady County beginning June 20, 2019 for a five-year term.

Barbara stated the minutes will reflect a single ballot for the slate.

Eric Trahan introduced Cheryl Cufari who presented the Foundation for Mohawk Valley Libraries nomination for Carl Shepard to be elected to a three year term.

Cheryl asked for nominations from the floor. Hearing none, she stated the minutes will reflect a single ballot for the slate.

Eric Trahan reported The Foundation for Mohawk Valley Libraries provides Advocacy Grants to libraries for budget votes, advocacy, charters, and special projects.

Cheryl Cufari noted the Foundation's Facebook page is where information on events are provided. She asked the attendees to share the page with others to bring awareness of the Foundation and its mission.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:50 p.m.

Staff Recognition:

Sharon O'Brien, Member Services Coordinator, was recognized for 15 years of service. Kathy Insero, Administrative Assistant was recognized for 20 years of service.

Awards Presentation:

Eric Trahan recognized Marion Grimes, Chair of the Awards Committee, to introduce the annual MVLS Awards. Marion thanked Committee members Joanne Mickle, and Eleanor Spencer for their work on this year's awards and thanked those who submitted nominations. Marion stated each library has wonderful people doing wonderful things and please continue nominating them for these awards.

Joanne Mickle presented the 2019 Library Recognition Award to Karen Bradley, Director of the Schenectady County Public Library for its *Repair Café* Program. Joanne introduced Leah LaFera and David West. Leah presented a video of how the program works, and stated 100 items were saved from the landfill and 80 volunteers assisted with the repairs. The library was awarded \$500, a framed certificate and citations from Senator George Amedore, and Senator James Tedisco.

Marion Grimes stated the history for the 2019 Harold and Junice Wusterbarth Volunteer Service Award.

Christine Pesses of the Gloversville Public Library was honored for her service to the library. She participated in the 2005 rechartering, led the Trustees through the reorganization process, and was the driving force behind all aspects of the \$9 million building renovation project. Christine was the first female board president. She was presented with a framed certificate in honor of the 2019 Harold and Junice Wusterbarth Volunteer Service Award. The Gloversville Public Library received \$200 in her honor. Citations from Senator George Amedore and Senator James Tedisco, were presented.

Eric Trahan congratulated the 2019 award winners on behalf of the MVLS Board of Trustees.

The evening ended with the fourteenth annual Library Trivia contest hosted by Michael Burnett and assisted by Sally Rappa and Kathy Insero. Winners received coupons for books by answering book trivia questions.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathy Insero, Recorder